Daily Archives: June 20, 2011

In a city as big as NYC, the next block can be totally different.

I did something kind of crazy today.  Well, not really that crazy considering it didn’t bother me, but to some people, it might sound a little crazy and they might be asking me, “Why in the world would you do that?”

I got off about five subway stations before mine and walked.  The whole way.

I decided, since I had a lot of time anyway, to just get off at the 79th St. station and walk all the way to 124th and Claremont, which is basically where the International House is located.  I just went off by myself to wander.  Except I didn’t really wander too much.  I just went straight down Broadway; it basically goes from one length of Manhattan to the other and the 1 subway train follows it the whole way.

Along the way, I went into this used and rare bookstore called Westsider Books between 80th and 81st.  I saw more Duane Read’s (NYC’s equivalent to a Walgreens or Rite Aid) than I could count (I should have counted but by the time I thought to do that, I was already half-way home) and Starbucks too.  I started counting how many Starbucks I passed but stopped after five because I forgot I was still counting.

I went into the 82nd St. Barnes and Noble that had three floors.  My kryptonite is Barnes and Noble – or any bookstore, really – and I shouldn’t have gone in there, but it’s not like I was really aiming to do anything specific on my 40-plus block long walk.  So I chilled in there for a while then continued on my way, past the 86th St subway stop, the 96th St, the 103rd, the 110 and finally the 116th.  I passed a million little delis and restaurants with outdoor seating.  I walked past Columbia and Barnard University and street vendors selling food and records and paintings and photographs.  And from 82nd, where I’d left the Barnes and Noble after spending probably a good half hour to 45 minutes in there, it only took me about a half hour to reach my room at the I-house.  Not too bad, if I do say so myself.  It was relaxing, and I do recommend, if you’re in NYC and it’s a really nice day, just get off a few stations before your stop and just walk, watching the people and buildings around you.  And, regarding the title of this post, after about 97th, the crowds began to disappear more and there weren’t as many families walking around.  That was when I’d entered more into Columbia University, so it was quieter – being a Sunday – with less shops and businesses and more buildings meant for the college.  But it is true, one block can be bustling and busy and the next can be quieter and more relaxed. I would imagine that would happen in NY.

Yesterday we had an open day so I was invited to go sailing on my friend Jen’s grandparents’ boat.  They live in New Rochelle so we sailed basically all day across the Long Island Sound to Port Washington.

Jen and her friend David who also joined us.  Unfortunately it wasn’t that windy so we had to motor it for a while, but there were some times where the wind picked up and we were going at a pretty good speed.  I also learned from boat “lingo” like “comeabout” when you have to change the direction of the sails and “port” is left and “starboard” is right.  And “jive,” I believe, it when you change directions of the sail, similar to coming about, but there’s a different way of doing it…And I also had this song stuck in my head, as sailing and boats and ships now remind me of that series of movies.

Today, before I took my walk down Broadway, our group visited Chelsea and the High Line Park and Chelsea Market.  The High Line Park is this stretch of park on an old railway line between about 22nd and 15th St on 10th Ave.

You could see the Empire State building from up here. Sooo awesome.

There were bird feeders arranged on this wire contraption!

Then I started getting artsy and taking pictures of the flowers growing around there.

Hahaha!

Can someone please explain this to me? I’ve seen it several times around the city. I thought NYC already had 6 sports teams: Knights, Knicks, Jets, Giants, Yankees, Mets.  Are the Mets some kind of joke? Do they have a professional soccer team or something?

Yes! Mahaha…

This was a really long building that basically stretched the whole length of 22nd or one of the streets before we came to the stairs leading to the entrance of High Line park.  I don’t know what the builiding was called, but it seriously went the whole block.

In our WRA 308: Invention in Writing, we have to write about a place that “inspires us.” I was going to write about the Met, but now I think I’m going to write about High Line park. I certainly took enough pictures, and it would definitely be a place I could spend a few hours reading or hanging out. You just don’t expect to come across a park above some of the buildings, overlooking the street; that’s what makes it so different and unique from other parks I’ve been to in NYC.

Also, wanted to wish a Happy Father’s Day to all dad’s everywhere, and especially MY DAD! I love you! In honor of Father’s Day, I recommend these for some good ole’ fashions Father’s Day humor, completely unrelated to NYC, but funny, nonetheless.

1 –> cute
2 –> funny!
3 –> adorable! (despite being an ad, as well, but the message is so true!)